North Carolina Association of Broadcasters

Industry Awards

Every year NCAB honors the "best of the best" in the North Carolina broadcast industry with the Association's most prestigious awards — the Hall of Fame Award, the Distinguished Service Award, and the Wade Hargrove Community Leadership Award.

Hall of Fame Award

The Hall of Fame Award was initiated in 1970. Consideration is given to North Carolina residents who have made significant contributions to broadcasting in the state, persons born in North Carolina who have made significant contributions to the broadcast industry outside the state and persons either born or residing outside of North Carolina who have made significant contributions to broadcasting in North Carolina. This award is designed to recognize and honor persons who have contributed to the broadcast industry in the past or over an extended period of time.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was authorized in 1973 in memory of the late Earle Gluck, who was a pioneer in broadcasting in North Carolina and played a significant role in the formation and development of NCAB. This award is given for outstanding service to or on behalf of the broadcast industry. This award is bestowed either annually or less frequently as the occasion warrants and is intended to recognize "current" contributions to broadcasting - as opposed to contributions made in the past or made over an extended period of time, which are recognized by the Hall of Fame Award.

Wade H. Hargrove Community Leadership Award

Unlike the NCAB Distinguished Service Award which recognizes service to the Association and to the broad-cast industry, the Wade Hargrove Community Leadership Award is intended to recognize current or past general managers, or other senior management of an NCAB member station who has made significant contributions toward the communities served by their radio or television stations, or to the general well being or improvement of the citizens of their local community, county or state. In keeping with the FCC mandate of "serving the public interest, convenience, and necessity," these contributions may be made through public service campaigns, community events, service as an officer or elected official, or service on local boards and civic organizations.

This Award was established in 2011 to honor Wade Hargrove who has dedicated his long career to protecting the rights of all broadcasters. Mr. Hargrove served as Executive Director and General Counsel to the North Carolina Association of Broadcasters for over 40 years.

Past Recipients of Hall Of Fame Award

David Brinkley (1970) H. K. Carpenter (1970) Grady Cole (1970) George C. Cox (1970) Earle J. Gluck (1970) Charles H. Crutchfield (1970) Billy Graham (1970) Andy Griffith (1970) Kay Kyser (1970) Edward R. Murrow (1970) Richard A. Dunlea (1971) Ray Reeve (1971) Harold Essex (1972) Carl Goerch (1972) Frank Jarman (1973) E. Z. Jones (1974) Robert M. Wallace (1974) A. J. Fletcher (1975) Richard H. Mason (1975) Doris B. Potter (1976) Wesley H. Wallace (1976) Charles B. Kuralt (1977) Graham "Pappy" Poyner (1977) Robert R. Hilker (1978) Gordon Gray (1979) Harold Harrison (1980) Earl Holder (1980) Jim Reid (1980) W. R. Roberson, Jr. (1981) Hartwell Campbell (1982) Betty Feezor (1982) Fred Fletcher (1982) Roy H. Park (1982) Jack Starnes (1983) Frank U. Fletcher (1984) Howard Cosell (1985) Reginald Fessenden (1986) William Friday (1986) Kate Smith (1986)

Wally Ausley (1987) Edmund S. Long (1987) Clyde McLean (1987) Wallace Jorgenson (1988) Doug Mayes (1988) J. Floyd Fletcher (1989) Robert Mendelson (1989) Arthur Smith (1990) Ray Wilkinson (1990) Ty Boyd (1991) Frank Rice (1992) James B. Childress (1992) Cy Bahakel (1993) Sen. Jesse Helms (1993) Jack Callaghan (1994) Charlie Gaddy (1994) Carl V. Venters, Jr. (1995) Kermit Edney (1996) Ervin L. Hester, Sr. (1996) Loonis McGlohon (1996) Max Meeks (1996) Jack Hankins (1997) Bill Page (1997) George Beasley (1998) Wade Hargrove (1998) Jimmy Capps, Jr. (1999) Hattie Leeper (1999) John W. "Jake" Dunlop (2000) James A. Heavner (2000) Jackson F. Lee (2001) William R. Rollins (2001) Tom Joyner (2002) Jan Caddell (2002) Don Curtis (2002) Rick Dees (2002) Earl Wynn (2002) James G. Babb (2003) James F. Goodmon (2003)

Charlie Rose (2003)

Woody Durham (2004) Vassie Balkcum (2004) Carl Lamm (2004) Cullie Tarleton (2004) Art Cooley (2005) Rennie Corley (2005) John Young (2005) Henry Boggan (2006) Ralph Epperson (2006) Maurice "Maury" O'Dell (2006) Roy Underhill (2006) Joseph McKinley Bryan (2007) John L. Greene (2007) Kenneth W. Lowe (2007) Lee W. Kinard, Jr. (2008) Bruce Wheeler (2009) George Diab (2010) Sandra Hughes (2010) Pat Patterson (2010) Tom Campbell (2011) Tom Howe (2012) Larry Stogner (2012) Stuart W. Epperson (2013) Robert Lacey (2013) Mark J. Prak (2014) Tom Suiter (2014) Henry Hinton (2015) Stuart Scott (2015) Ann Seltman Smart (2016) Dee Ray (2016) Rick Ray (2016) Greg Fishel (2017) John Isley (2017) Billy James (2017) Carl Davis (2018) Cameron Kent (2018) Bill Currie (2019) Dick Harlow (2019) Lisa McKay (2019)

Past Recipients of Distinguished Service Award

Wade H. Hargrove (1973) Jack Starnes (1974) Wesley H. Wallace (1975) Robert R. Hilker (1976) Charles H. Crutchfield (1977) Sam J. Ervin, Jr. (1978) Jack P. Hankins (1979) Eugene H. Bohi (1980) Wallace J. Jorgenson (1981) Cullie M. Tarleton (1982) Carl V. Venters, Jr. (1983) James A. Heavner (1984) Robert L. Harper (1985) William R. Rollins (1986) James Goodmon (1987) Senator James Broyhill (1988) Tom Harrell (1988)

James G. Babb, Jr. (1989) Donald Curtis (1990) Victor W. Dawson (1991) Alan MacIntyre (1991) Vassie Balkcum (1992) John Greene (1993) Jan Caddell (1994) Rennie Corley (1995) George Beasley (1996) Tom Joyner (1997) Beverly J. Holt (1998) John Dawson (1999) Mike Weeks (2000) Henry Hinton (2001) Walker Morris (2002) Tom Howe (2003)

Rick Jackson (2005) Ardie Gregory (2006) David Crabtree (2007) Mark Prak (2008) The Dawson Family (2009) Henry Price (2010) Dr. James Carson (2011) Senator Richard Burr (2012) J. Daniel Highsmith (2013) Gary Weiss (2014) Dick Harlow (2015) Caroline Beasley (2016) Honorable G.K. Butterfield (2016) Steven D. Hammel (2017) Dean Susan King (2018) Chairman Ajit Pai (2019)

Past Recipients of the Wade H. Hargove Community Leadership Award

Richard Cole (2004)

Phil Zachary (2011)
J. Daniel Highsmith (2012)
J. Ardell Sink (2013)
Gig Hilton (2014)
Doug Hamilton (2015)
Lee Armstrong (2016)
Dan Vallie (2017)

Broadcasters of the Triad Region (2018) North Carolina Emergency Management (2019)